top of page

College, Athletics, and Overcoming an Eating Disorder


Where to begin?... Well I went to a private school/boarding school. I love that place dearly, but for a very long time I hated that place because that's where I developed my eating disorder. I remember having disordered thinking around nine years-old. I always had negative thoughts floating in my head but I just thought it was normal–that everyone has negative thoughts about their body.


I was at boarding school for nine years. I am an athlete and have always loved anything with a ball or running! As I got older I knew I sports was my life and playing in college would be my dream. So starting out in high school, I excelled athletically and academically. Everything in life seemed good. I even had a boyfriend!


But during my freshman year, my dad had a stroke. It tore me apart. I am such a daddy's little girl (always have been), so to watch my dad almost die? I couldn't bare it. After school was horrible. I wasn't preforming athletically nor academically. I lost my boyfriend too which sucked! I didn't care about anything anymore.


I graduated high school and started playing field hockey in college. I became a health freak! I started going to the gym everyday in addition to my sport practices. I changed my eating habits and cut bread out of my diet. I started to be obsessed with being thin. I was always thin but the weight started to be an obsession.


To fast forward, I was hospitalized for a good week just watching fluids go through me. I was so scared but, I still did not think I had a problem. It was only when I saw a cardioligist that I started to realize the reality of my situation. She told me I only had a good month until I would have had cardiac arrest. That's when I knew I had to change my ways and get help.


I sought professional help through a residential treatment center. It was life changing for me. Additionally, I went on a missions trip wherein I truly found my self-worth in the love of Jesus. I just hope that through sharing my story, I can bring awareness!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page