top of page

Interview with Girlmentum Media founder, Kimberly Wolf: Woman with a Vision


Can you introduce yourself?

I'm Kimberly (Kimmy) Wolf. The company I started, Girlmentum Media, publishes ShimmerTeen.colm and PlanetDaughter.com.


Can you give a brief span of your education and career up until this point?

I always knew I wanted to write and start my own thing. As a gender studies major at Brown, I was already outlining the concept for Girlmentum and the books I wanted to publish for girls. I wrote my thesis at Brown on 60 years of sexual health content in SEVENTEEN and graduated with honors. Before launching Girlmentum, I made sure to get a lot of experience first. I worked on photo shoots for magazines like Teen Vogue and Harpers. I worked for a company that produced short-form documentaries and philanthropic organizations and campaigns like The ONE Campaign and Rock the Vote. I worked in a health tech startup in Silicon Valley and an educational media company in Boston. I volunteered as a sex-ed teacher and worked with girls as a writing coach and academic mentor. I wanted to understand the health and wellness issues facing girls of as many different backgrounds as possible, so that my writing and branding would resonate with the people I was trying to reach. Along the way, I also got my master's in human development and psychology from the Harvard Graduate School of Education. I've been quoted on our contributed to platforms, including Huffington Post, WebMD, CNN, Health.com, and Livestrong.

What are ShimmerTeen and Planet Daughter?

ShimmerTeen is a health and wellness website for teenage girls. With so much misinformation on the web, we wanted to give our little sisters a trusted resource at a time in their lives when they need it most. Planet Daughter wasn't a project I planned to launch, but in my business meetings, I encountered a lot of fathers who would ask me for parenting advice. I started Planet Daughter for them, to give them some insight into what was going on for their daughters and give them tips for how they (fathers) could stay connected as their little girls were growing up.

What inspired you to start Shimmerteen? How did the idea come about?

So many things. I went to an all-girls high school in Los Angeles. I was aware of the challenges we all faced and the questions we had on topics like nutrition, body image, mental health, sex, and relationships. We needed information and support, but not everyone was comfortable seeking out knowing adults.


I also noticed the pressure we felt from media and the entertainment industry, which literally surrounded us. But, the opportunity to watch close friends use their fame to raise awareness for social causes led me to develop a deep belief in the power of media to educate and inspire.

What is the most challenging part about what you do? Most rewarding?

Managing my own expectations has been an adjustment! When I started out, I felt like there would be a straight path to realizing my vision for ShimmerTeen, but the path has been windier than expected for a number of reasons. I had to learn how to be flexible in my vision, not compromising, but flexible with things like timing. The most rewarding part of my work is talking to people who tell me that something they read on one of our platforms or heard me say in one of my talks changed their lives in small and big ways. I also love getting to talk to so many intelligent girls and health experts. That's always fun.


Was it difficult getting Shimmerteen off the ground?

It was harder than I thought it would be, which is what many entrepreneurs will tell you. But that's all part of the process. With passion fueling you, I don't really feel like you can go wrong.


What are your aspirations for the future of your company?

I'm lucky because I am already doing a lot of things that I always wanted to do: writing; creating quality resources for people who are looking for them; working with amazing corporate partners who share our vision; giving talks. I'm excited to keep doing all of that. I look forward to publishing books and maybe launching a ShimmerTeen product line.


Any words of advice for aspiring women entrepreneurs and leaders?

When you put yourself out there, you are going to get a lot of feedback from people, invited or not. Only take the advice that feels good to you. Develop strategies to block out the naysayers. Surround yourself with people who believe in you and your vision. There was a time when I let myself be defined by the things people told me I couldn't do, rather than all of the things I knew I could do. Focus on the people and actions that are working for you, that give you energy.



Lastly, what does authentic mean to you and in what ways are you authentic?

For me, being authentic is acting in a way that reflects my true self. There are so many outside influences from family and friends to broader social forces like media, which can have impacts on our thinking, the way we live and act, the way to strive to live up to expectations. Being authentic means checking in with myself to make sure I'm always leading from my own vision, treating people with kindness and openness so that they can be their authentic selves around me, and surrounding myself with other fiercely authentic people –my husband, family, friends, and mentors – who in their own genuine lifestyles inspire me to stay grounded.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page