top of page

Beauty Has No Bounds


I’ve always struggled to see myself as beautiful. The belief that I was ugly, both in appearance and personality, kept me trapped in an eating disorder. Physical perfection was beautiful. The protrusion of hipbones and collar bones was beautiful. I wouldn’t be beautiful until I was just that. However, in my journey of recovery I’ve learned my thoughts were slightly skewed. I was left to figure out what is beauty? What does it take to be beautiful?


I, of course, immediately consulted Google. I searched for images using the words ‘beauty’ and ‘beautiful’. Searching beautiful” I was presented with landscapes, sunrises, waterfalls and flowers. My search of the word ‘beauty’ revealed all photos of fair women with perfectly flawless skin and makeup. Almost all were shots from the shoulders up and they were seemingly naked. The contrast amazed me. Why is beauty merely correlated with physical attractiveness?


Beauty is based on societal expectations and what the media and advertising industries have constructed. The average American woman is between 5’4” and 5’6” tall and weighs approximately 140 to 160 lbs. Yet the average American model, standing around 5’10” tall and weighing about 107 lbs. are the unhealthy frames advertising and marketing companies use. The clothing and latest fashion trends promoted make women believe they are not, nor they cannot be “beautiful” unless they have that product.


I decided to get a little input of others thoughts on beauty. I asked a few family and friends, “What do you find beautiful? Why?” I left all interpretations up to them. No two responses were the same.


Mental strength and the ability to persevere is viewed as beautiful. The ability to put pride aside and ask for help is also a characteristic of strength. Another discussed the beauty in nature–the peace and tranquility it provides. Beauty is the ability to bring others joy and love them unconditionally. A person holding their head high with confidence despite their appearance is beautiful. My favorite response had to be from the 6 year old I asked; his answer, “My dad’s hair in the morning because it looks cool.” The innocence of his response itself was beautiful.


What is it that makes you beautiful? Beautiful people are unique and true to themselves. As I continue in my recovery, I have began to see beauty outside of the physical and only having the perfect body. Despite what size my pants are, I am beautiful. Regardless of my hair color, I am beautiful. My story is beautiful.


Beauty is artistic; it is natural and unaltered; it is innocent and vulnerable. Beauty is both concrete and abstract. Beauty is simply a concept which has no limitations. Beauty is everywhere and everything is beautiful the way God created it to be.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page