top of page

Interview with Ailis Garcia, Founder of The Strong Movement


Can you introduce yourself?

Hey there! My name is Ailis – pronounced “I Lease.” I’m 25 and following my dreams and am dedicated to helping other women do the same!


How did you get started with fitness, health, and modeling?

What inspired you to start The Strong Movement? How did the idea come about?

I gained the “Freshman 15” while I was in college and really wanted to find a way to gain more energy and confidence, so I started learning how to workout properly in the gym and fuel my body with the right nutrition. Friends started to notice, so they asked me to train them and create custom meal plans and workouts for them. The weight room can be very intimidating for women and I realized there wasn’t a resource for college girls or women, in general, to go to to get all of the information they need, in one place, to build both a strong body and a strong mind. So, I decided to create that resource (The Strong Movement) and help women look and feel their best with the confidence to go along with it!


I’m also signed with SLU Agency for fitness modeling! I always thought it would be awesome to shoot for NIKE, and the first shoot I ever went on, after being signed, was NIKE Women!


What keeps you motivated?

In the short time since The Strong Movement has launched, I’ve received so many emails and notes from girls all over the world about how The Strong Movement has helped them. It’s been truly humbling and I want to continue to put all of my heart into it to continue to help and inspire women!


What is the most challenging part about what you do? Most rewarding?

When you start a business, you have to wear many hats. One day, I’m figuring out a tech glitch on the website and another day I’m in business meetings or at a factory for our Activewear line. At the end of the day, I set my own schedule, I can sleep in or stay up late, but things won’t get done unless I do them! I put all the hard work in to be able to help other women become their best and accomplish their dreams!

Are there any fitness or health fads you would encourage people to try/avoid?

The Strong Movement is about living an active, healthy and balanced lifestyle!


What do you love about your body?

I love the energy and endurance I have!


What is the process behind designing your activewear line?

So much goes into designing, creating and manufacturing an activewear line! Right now, we just finished our lookbook and I’m just so excited to share it with everyone! http://www.shopstronggirl.com/pages/lookbook


What are your aspirations for the future?

To continue to help women be strong, confident and happy!

What does authentic mean to you and in what ways are you authentic?

Being authentic means being true to yourself and for never cheating yourself of who you are. Being authentic means believing in yourself and your potential. Your beliefs—whether they’re true or false, make up your identity and that is something no one can ever take away from you! Believe that you can do and accomplish anything you set your mind to! I’ve always lived by this philosophy and will continue to help other women believe in themselves!


Rapid Fire favorites:

Exercise: Booty Workouts!

Snack: Bell Peppers & Hummus

Hobby: Read & Travel

Quote: Make it Happen!

Meal: Pizza! ;)

Workout Song: Hard to pick! I have two TSM playlists on repeat right now! – TSM January (https://open.spotify.com/user/121794027/playlist/3qzfzPbIP8Vu7ll7apY5eF) & TSM February (https://open.spotify.com/user/121794027/playlist/6vDSjGub5M9V4NzgEGVS9m)

Outfit: My go-to: Strong Movement Performance Leggings + Fit Squad Mesh Muscle Tank + Strong Girl Hat & Nike Kicks!

City: All I can think about lately is a relaxing quiet trip to Maui!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page